Shane Jooste


Shane was born and bred in Fraserburg a town in the Karoo region of South Africa’s Northern Cape Province, which is about 491 km from Cape Town. She is the second oldest of three children. Her oldest brother (28) is a paramedic and her baby brother (10) still in school. Their father sadly passed away last year. He was a farmer and would have been 73 years old this year. Their mom who is there biggest support system (45) is a housewife.

Shane currently lives in Sutherland, which is 100km from her hometown. She is a general assistant at a guesthouse called “Skitterland”. It is part of her duty to check guest in and out and to help prepare meals for them. She loves her job because she gets to meet people from all around the world. She completed high school in 2017 at Fraserburg high, which is the only high school in town. Shane feels taking a gap year will allow her to make the best choice possible in selecting a career path.

For leisure, she loves to just walk around town. Sutherland is famous for its warm hospitality, snowy winters, starlit nights and dramatic landscapes. She also loves listening to music and singing along. Sports such as Rugby, football, and netball also interest her. Shane her home language is Africans and second language is English!

She volunteered at Kambro a non-profit organization that was launched in her hometown in 2016. The children’s ages were between 5-8 years old. It is here where she gained her first child care experience. Her duties were to prepare meals, playing educational games with them and simply just having fun. Shane loves the feeling of knowing she is making a difference in someone else’s life.

She also babysat her brothers three children ages 1, 7 and 11 years old. The oldest one is disabled (her one leg is shorter than the other, she cannot use her one hand/arm and her speech is also affected) so she literately had to wash and dress all three of them. She cooked for them too and helped with homework. Shane feels Children brings out the best in her. She is extra responsible when she looks after them.

She wants to Aupair because it is an opportunity of a lifetime where you meet new people, where you learn about their culture, their language and most importantly because of her passion for children.

Shane does not see herself doing anything else besides working with children. For now, she thinks that after this whole experience she would like to return to South Africa and study towards an education degree to become a teacher.

Leeftijd 20
Ervaringen Baby sitting experience,
Interesses Site seeing,
Scholing Middelbare school,
Gesproken talen Engels,

Meer weten?

Naar contact

Of bel:
070 3814 812

Super Nanny Au Pair Services